RSS

..the scooter has corrupted me

27 Jul

 

..fater than a speeding bullet!

well..the love affair with the scooter is over..and after only a 2 month affair..I really liked driving it but the speed issue is getting to me. As a result I was shopping for a used motorcycle..and on test drive number 6 I settled on a used 1988 CB450s. Not too speedy or new but it only had 16000kms on it so it should be good to go for a while. I took it out on the road and I felt that same feeling as usual and knew it was a match..so I bought it for $1700..not too bad as motorcycles hold their value very well if they run, have no rust and have low kms. So, after 12 years I bought and drive a motorcycle again. I tried to drive a motorcycle a year after my accident and I was way to skittish and paranoid but it feels good again. So far I keep to the speed limits and I think from now on I will…there is a saying, ‘absolute power corrupts absolutly’ and I could not agree more..but remembering accidents and operations has a way of calming someone down so I plan to keep the speed low. Haha..I guess I should qualify things a little..low speed yes but the scooter would not go 60 for me so I would have to plan routes so I could get places..I wanted a vehicle that could go on the streets anywhere in the city, so I upgraded.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2006 in Construction

 

4 responses to “..the scooter has corrupted me

  1. Ron

    June 28, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    When I was a kid, I was reckless and got into some trouble… suffice it to say that for a number of years, a motorcycle was the only thing I could drive. I had a 1973 Honda CL350. Loved and hated that bike. I spent years on it, though, riding in rain, snow, whatever.

    Finally, I was working in a motorcycle shop and I rebuilt the motor. I was doing 70 mph when the motor locked up. I don’t know how I stayed on the bike, it was like swimming. The little plastic tensioner on the cam chain failed.

    Never rode another bike, until moving out here and got a real bad itch on these pretty rural roads. So… I have a moped now. You are making me want to get it out and go for a ride. :)

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 29, 2011 at 10:36 am

      yeah..it was scary when the back tire went..then 2 years later I was run off the road and royally screwed my shoulder…I tried riding the next year but I was too jumpy..11 years later I was on a scooter and I missed it so much. I vowed to lower my chances of future accidents by not driving too fast and leave gaps and such..but still, people cut me off all the time..if you have never driven a motorcycle you don’t know how much people don’t give them the respect they deserve on the road! I drive a KLR 650 now..street and trail..the first year this was the only motorcycle that could make it all the way into my place on the old road..it is amazing how many motorcycles will not drive when there is 2ft of water to drive through!

       
  2. Robin

    June 29, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I was behind a slow motorcycle for the first time in ages. Usually they are always speeding by. I’ve never rode a motorcycle before but I would love one that had a side car. I think I have these goofy images of me with goggles and a scarf having the time of my life. Lee will never get me a bike though because he says they are to dangerous. But I have riding one in my bucket list. hehehe

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      July 5, 2011 at 8:16 am

      just be careful..I have a bad shoulder due to an accident..and my current klr 650 I have dropped 10 times..but then again I am going through rough muddy splippery terrain..but then again it was made for conditions like these! they are dangerous..just last Wed I had to skid 20 ft and avoid a car that had pulled out in front of me to cross over the road. I didn’t wipeout..but it was as close as I have come to an accident in 15 years.

       

Leave a Reply

 
