RSS

Regulator Rectifier..WHAT?

16 May

..OK. so I DID have battery woes but the mechanic let me know that the batteries have not been the issue, its the regulator rectifier…it is the thing that changes the voltage in order to keep the battery charged..and mine is broken. On top of that the mechanic was kind enough to tell me that he cannot find a rectifier to fix this issue so I am going to have to go out on my own to look for one..sweet. Just what I was hoping for. Evidently a cb450s is a rare bike that was made for only 1 year..1988 so parts for it are hard to come by..well i n’t that just super! Yippee..as if I did not have enough going on n0w I have a faulty motorcycle to deal with.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2007 in Construction

 

2 responses to “Regulator Rectifier..WHAT?

  1. Ron

    June 28, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    As I understand it, the regulator is a pretty generic item. If you can find a real cheap one off of another honda, it just might work. Depending on the price, might be worth a gamble. I think many of them have similar wiring, but may have a different connector.

    I can’t promise it will work though… it’s been a long time since I worked on those, and I didn’t see many regulator failures.

    Batteries mostly die from becoming discharged over the winter. You could get a solar trickle charger, which might help them last longer.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 29, 2011 at 10:31 am

      I did end up finding one ( this post is from 4 years ago..I am going back to the past to fill out my posts )..but it took me a year. I called all kinds of junkyards all over NA..to no avail. Then I found a place that will fabricate rectifiers if you send in the broken one..$75 later it was fixed..it basically sat for a year..then I got it working and sold it 2 weeks later for $200 more than I paid for it..hehe.

       

Leave a Reply

 
