RSS

Winter Plowing for those without plows.

13 Jan

the 'plow' in action

..we have no plow and it will get tougher to get in as the winter progresses..and nobody is going to plow that road so I needed to take measures into my own hands. When in doubt ask the locals with camps in the area. My next door neighbor was out at the camp as I passed by the other day so I popped out to chat with him. Over the course of the conversation he described a tried and tested method to assure the road is passable without using a plow: a tree. When is a tree not a tree and at what point does it become a plow..the answer to both of these is this: when you drag it behind your truck. Yes..grab a bushy spruce and cut it off so it is 15 feet long. Attach it to the rear hitch and drive. As you go through thick snow you will create ruts..the tree pulled behind the truck does 2 things..levels out the snow behind the truck and fills in the ruts. If you keep doing this after snorms it will create a road of snow that is on top of the ground..so the more snow the thicker the road..as winter progresses it can be as thick as 4 feet according to my neighbor. So..I tried it….after a couple of storms the road is in great shape!

ruts..be gone!

..while the tool is not pretty it is pretty effective in battling uneven driveways!

storage is easy and replacing the plow if it breaks costs nothing!

...and the results are hard to argue with!

You can see there IS a rut in this picture..too much sun melts some areas and they become soft and you sink in..there is only 2 spots that really get sun so this is not a problem..plus this shot is right at my driveway and I think there is an artesian spring somewhere on the hill on my property cause this area is always wet..even when conditions are dry. Either way..locals as a source of information are a super assett!! Works like a charm!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 13, 2009 in Construction, Transportation

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Winter Plowing for those without plows.

  1. Robin

    July 22, 2011 at 2:58 am

    I have never heard of that before. It snows so little here and we don’t have a driveway so I guess I will never get to try it out.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      July 22, 2011 at 8:16 am

      LUCKY!!! It is not as fun as it sounds..have you ever forgotten to take off a tree then went on the highway? Me neither…but I did get on the bus with my headlamp going once..don’t worry..I realized it was on for 1/2 hour.

       

Leave a Reply

 
