RSS

What is old is new again..the ongoing saga of a car battery (or off-grig lighting v2)

17 Jan

reduce, reuse, recycle and now…re-abuse. Since I got rid of my 1999 Hyundai Accent we have had a car battery kicking around. I could not get rid of a half decent car battery now could I?..so I carried it with me on the move. I stuck it in my shed and half-forgot about it.

Well today I had a bright idea..a light.  Duh…Powered by a battery. wow. Yes..should not be a newsflash for me..but I have been thinking about systems..not a single light..Mounts and carriers, not a single battery.but there was also a 12 v light that I got when I purchased my panels..so I hooked it all up. It was very complicated..I hooked the red wire to the red wire and the black wire to the black wire..and then there was light!

I know it took 4 months..sometimes I cannot see the forest through the trees..this is really going to simplify things..no more having to use the headlamps in the morning or to read..no more trying to locate a light when it is pitch black..and no more fancy lights…this is about as low as I want to go..actually last week was as low as I want to go..but I am NOT going back to gas laterns or flashlights to read..this whole lighting thing has been 2 step backwards and 1 step forward..it was all fine while we had the power inverter/battery..but that went kaput. Its Jan now and its dark when we leave and dark when we get home..so there is no sense in having dark WHILE we are at home is there?..NO!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2009 in lighting

 

Leave a Reply

 
