RSS

Chicken Dreams – to build a coop

20 Apr

Dreams are turning to reality! A* and I have wanted to have chickens for a while..neither of us have ever done it and we have no clue but we have never let things like facts or knowledge stop us..so a couple of weeks ago we bought materials for beginning construction on a chicken coop for around 4-5 chickens…today was the day the weather improved enough to begin construction..

Materials:

  • 8 – 2×6’s
  • 20 -2×4’s
  • 3 thoughts of eggs
  • 2 1/2 nails ( a whack )
  • wood preserver
  • 1 vision of chickens
  • 2 sheets of osb
  • 6 patio stones
  • bad mood
  • surly attitude
  • beer

OK, so I know in the next little while I am going to be building a chicken coop..I have some ideas as to what I want for a floor size..I am going 4×8..so that will give me almost 32 feet of room..minus the walls interior. The land that we own is QUITE hilly, rocky and sloped so the very frist thing I need to to is to place down some patio stones..but even before that I need a level area to put them on..so out comes the good old shovel and pick..then back-filling with some rough gravel..this is so I have something consistant..not that the coop will not shift with the frost. After the patio stones are in place I assemble the ‘joists’ from some 2×10’s that I treated with preservative. Getting the thing level was an exercise and a half..I understood what I had done wrong after I started..I had never done this part of construction before so there was much to learn…but I eventually got it ‘level’..with a slight slant towards the door so that water would run-off when it was cleaned. After the joists were on and level I put on the plywood flooring…that was it for day 1.

Lessons Learned:

  • making the ground level takes time..like 2 hours..and its hard work
  • I am an idiot
  • how to square a structure: measure from corner to corner..if its the same it is level.
  • sealing softwood from mositure and mold – bought some wood preserver from the hardware store..applied liberally too all boards and cuts that will be on the outside of the structure in the form of support..
  • I am still an idiot

Outstanding questions:

  • will the chickens like the color I choose?
  • how do I do a roof?
  • how much more wood will I need?
  • am I qualified to do this job?
  • would drinking beer fater help improve the project or my mood more?

the 'level' floor of the new coop..the area in front was our compost pile..we added some rocks to note for a future flower bed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 20, 2010 in Animals, Construction, Fowl, todo

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
