RSS

Hummingbirds

02 Sep

Last year I had a hummingbird feeder out and it did great..there were 2-3 hummingbirds using it for most of the summer last year..so this year I bought 2 more feeders and spread them around the yard hoping to attract even more hummingbirds. Well, I did have more feeders but it seems like I have less hummingbirds this year then I did last year. I always make sure that the syrup is not fermenting and do not put in more then will be used in a week..then change no matter what happens during the week. There are 2-4 around but I have a hard time telling them apart when they are moving at 200k/h. One of the feeders I bought for the hummingbirds is supposed to be an ‘ultra’ model for hummingbirds and they will supposedly love it..Well, that was 2 months ago and I have only ever seen a hummingbird use it twice while the other feeder in the area is in constant use ( a hummingbird every 2-3 minutes ). Bummer..but it is getting to the end of the hummingbird season soon anyway so I will be taking them down to encourage the birds to travel south..winter comes quick! Its funny because in the early part of the season the hummingbirds will not come within 20ft of you..but at the end you can get literally inches away and they seem mostly indifferent. Amazing creatures!

..and yes..that is a tree snake in the last picture…he is not poisonous, especially via the internet.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 2, 2010 in Animals, Wildlife

 

Leave a Reply

 
