RSS

varathane’ing

06 Dec

OK, so the varathane is now on.

..just after the final coat

.still need to do the base-boards but that is going to have to wait. We have been living in the living room for almost 3 weeks and its got to go! So we are moving the bed back in tonight along with the dressers and we will work around the furniture while we do the baseboards..I am not expecting a big job from it. We put 4 coats of varathane on the floor and each time it took around 12 hours to dry..and made the place uninhabitable while it dried. That was not all bad because it gave us an excuse to get out of the house for most of the weekend..apply varathane and go visit friends..apply varathane and do some work outside then go for a walk..which was really nice since it seems that we spend less and less time doing things like going for hikes. It also enabled me to update on the beaver situation developing down at the still water/developing stream..A* and I hiked around the lake and through some old overgrown trails and came out by the ‘train hole’ where I usually fish so we came back home that way..and while passing the still water I was privy to the goings on of the beavers..not that I saw any beavers..Jango sloshing about in the water and making all kinds of noise makes it hard to sneak up on wary beavers..but I did see all of the trees they had chewed down.

beaver buffet

I was actually amazed since some of the trees were 5inches in diameter..and I also got to see the beginnings of the lodge that the beavers are working on. As I said before..I will have to come down and try to catch the beaver in action. The area where I would usually fish is totally underwater now..you cannot even get within 20 feet of it to cast. Amazing work..and the dam is getting larger too..I took 3 beaver-chewed sticks to make some new walking sticks. fun to get out for a change..I need to make more time for spelunking through the woods in the future!

beginnings of a lodge.

Anyway the varathane is now done..we were a little disappointed with the varathane since it made everything lighter then the stain was..but what it lacks in shade it makes up for in depth and hardness..We are really hoping that Jango will not tear the wood apart but we will have to wait and see. I also am in the process of purchasing a ‘portable garage’ for the remaining wood..I cannot keep it dry enough to be able to install so if I need to wait it will be until next summer before I can install more. With the portable garage I am hoping to have a place to keep the wood dry as well as enough space to be able to process the wood in so I can keep working over the winter. There is one available on sale for $199 for a 10×17 structure..that should be more than enough room!..hopefully the wind will not rip it apart!

..just the baseboards and window trim left!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 6, 2010 in Construction, Wildlife

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “varathane’ing

  1. Robin

    December 19, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Wow that turned out really, really nice.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      December 21, 2010 at 7:27 am

      hey, thanks! We are really happy with it. We are in the process of putting up a portable garage so we can keep the wood dryer so that we can process the wood into flooring over the winter..the wood has been getting wet due to some high winds and wet weather so the rest of the flooring is on hold for a month..hopefully only a month!

       

Leave a Reply

 
