RSS

Pre-frogs and Dam Trash..Damn.

11 May
 

..yes the egg clutches are all over the place..wherever you see a quantity of water you can see clutches of eggs..some are ready to go and should be ready anyday..but then again it has been raining for nearly 3 weeks..I think we have had 3 sunny days in that time. boo.

..mmmm..amphibian caviar.

we took this on the way down to the stillwater..we went down to take the pup for a walk and see how things are shaping up at the dam..Still working on it..the logs seem like they are getting bigger..the dam is still there which means that nobody has been in to kill the beavers..

looking for a new walking stick..

but all is not well..there have been visitors to the dam..which concerns me:

signs of visitors..they make it easy to know when someone was here..

hopefully that will be as bad as it gets..it is so beautiful down there with the water level higher..ok not beautiful but it does look nice..I need a canoe so I can go up the stillwater and get to the lake now.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2011 in Animals, fun, Wildlife

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Pre-frogs and Dam Trash..Damn.

  1. Robin

    May 27, 2011 at 6:35 pm

    That is really pretty. We get beer cans thrown on our place near the road all the time. It’s super annoying. I mean really, can’t a person wait to drink their beer until they get home.

    Along a freeway near us there is a tree that a beaver has been working on. I stare at it all the time. The beaver has big ambitions as the tree is enormous. In your case why would someone want to kill the beavers? I could understand killing the one by us more since having tree fall near a highway might not be so grand, but up in the woods it wouldn’t make a difference would it?

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 27, 2011 at 9:21 pm

      Its no problem where they are as far as I am concerned. I think it has improved the waterflow..in some areas they cause problems where they are near roads that are flood prone and due to this some people label them all as bad. I really like everybody in the area but I don’t neccecarily agree with all the hunting rules. I really liked the owl colony that was in a swamp around half a km from my place, you could hear them in the distance at night. They ate too many rabbits.

       
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 27, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      Oh, but trapping season they are fair game..if it is official. I would trap them personally..my cousins trapped for cash during high school and I have no reason to pursue my recurring childhood nightmare of attempting to jump over a local river on my bmx on a ramp made of a pile of skinned frozen beaver corpses. Just kidding about me having nightmares about the frozen beavers..mine were really only ever about math. Sorry, its Friday and I have a general rule about all correspondence being idiotic. This reply made much more sense when I finished the first draft so I went back at it to make it more confusing.

       
  2. Robin

    May 28, 2011 at 3:02 pm

    HA! Thats always a good rule for Friday. ;) After my long island iced tea last night every response from me is down right silly.

     

Leave a Reply

 
