RSS

Going fishing for a rod

02 Jun

Well, last weekend I was out fishing with a friend..no luck with the fish so he thought he would treat me to a fun ride..it was a blast right up to the point our front wheels started to float in the deep water while the back end sunk into mud..the next thing I knew I was upside-down under water..anyway, after we got the atv out we noticed that the compartment holding my rod had flipped open..and the rod was lost to the depths of the swamp. It was way too muddy at the time to see anything but today i went back to fish for my rod. The equipment for rod fishing is quite simple..a filthy truck..a stick and a length of twine tied to a washer that has a powerful magnet attached to it. The theory is simple..hang the magnet underwater near the ground..when it attracts to the metal of the rod I reel (or pull up ) the twine with the now attached rod! Simple. So i jumped in the truck and was soon wading around in a swamp with a piece of rope attached to a magnet..perfectly normal. Ok, so this is the point where we listen to what I did wrong..the whole rod is aluminum..magnets don’t stick to aluminum nearly as well as steel..like if steel was 100% aluminum would hover around 0% sticky..after a couple of minutes of wading in near waist high water I realized it as not going to work..on to plan b. I used my eyes..I first saw something white buried in the mud..it was my towel that I had wrapped my beer in..and. after 5 more minutes I had found my rod. Hehe..now to actually catch some fish..i figure that since it was underwater for 3 days it should make it 28% more efficient at casting..not sure why I think that but it sounds reasonable!

image
image
image
image
image
image

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in fun

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Going fishing for a rod

  1. Ron

    June 5, 2011 at 3:14 pm

    Glad to hear you found it! It’s fishing time here, and I’ve got the fever pretty bad. Might have to go out again tonight…

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 7, 2011 at 7:37 am

      ..I know what you mean..I spoiled myself fishing from a boat last year..fishing from the shore now seems so hard! Yes..a nice find. Too bad my Vulcan logic was not functioning at warp 9.

       
  2. Robin

    June 5, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    YEAH! You found it. I thought it was going to be lost for good.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 7, 2011 at 7:38 am

      WHere there is a will there is a way..there is also a fishing rod when I willed my way waist deep into cold swamp water!..it would have been easier to find if I had took an easier route and just lost in in short grass.

       

Leave a Reply

 
