RSS

New Gear for camping…

06 Jun

Just set up the new 1 person Hennessy Hammock  tent. I travelled across the country on my motorcycle years ago and used a 1 man tent. Between the size, length of time to set up and finding level ground it would often be a pain..doubly so in the rain…if it was windy it was an order of magnitude more difficult.  I have had my eye on a hammock tent for a while so after I got my taxes back I decided to spend a small portion on a new toy. Before buying I had read they were supposedly easy to set up, no issues with level ground and only 3 lbs. It comes with a rain fly as well..

As they promised..setup was easy..wrap tree-saver straps around the 2 end points..usually trees, then tie the hammock to each..my knot skills were the biggest issue. image
imageIt is a huge advantage not to have to find a level spot to camp..and also not having to worry about water pooling in your tent if it rains. On one group camping trip we had trouble finding level ground for all the tents..I setup near the base of a hill..woke up in the middle of the night to rain..and someone was trying to film ‘A River Runs Through It’ in my tent.
imageThe bottom of the hammock has elastic which attach to basically anything so that the hammock will not bunch up around you while you are sleeping. I attached mine to a felled treetop and a root..I want it to be authentic as possible for the initial setup but in the future I think I will use a couple of tent pegs..I will not always have roots and trees around to tie to..On one side I could not find anything to attach to so I used a piece of firewood..it worked perfectly
image
imageInside there is plenty of room..this is the ‘Safari’ model that is rated for people up to 7′ tall and can handle up to 350 lbs..I am 6’2″ and I fit no trouble. When I set it up the whole thing looked flimsy and I wondered if it was going to hold..but after an hour in it I am not worried.
image..man these pictures make my pants look gross..they are work clothes..get off my back! I tried to lay on my sides, back and a variety of other positions..I could find comfortable ways to lie for all of my usual sleeping positions..except downward facing dog.
image
image

..and the anti-fly screen works! It is also rated for ‘no-see-ums’ or whatever those flies are that are too small to see but are not too small to bite. I am going camping this weekend with my brother and brother-in-law and the kidlets so I will try it out for a night and post in the report.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2011 in fun, Purchases

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “New Gear for camping…

  1. Ron

    June 9, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    Nice tent! Love it!

    I have memories of dad forgetting tent poles and using jumper cables to hold tent up to tree… then waking up at 3 a.m. half-submerged and throwing things in the trunk and going home. LOL

    That mosquito on the outside is priceless. I feel the same way when I see squash bugs on my row cover. Keep OUT, mother f-ers!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 10, 2011 at 8:05 am

      hahaha..yeah..I have had many camping horror stories..I go tonight and tomorrow night in the hammock tent so I am hoping it goes well..I have erred on the side of caution and am bringing kleenex in case things go wrong.

       
  2. Robin

    June 17, 2011 at 2:08 am

    I have never heard of a tent that is a hammock too. That is really cool.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 17, 2011 at 7:39 am

      yeah..in a past life I loved electronics..now I just go for odd gear. I just orders a blender made from elk antlers off of eBay! kidding..it is really a cappuccino macine..hehe,,FRIDAY!

       

Leave a Reply

 
