RSS

Task #2 complete – Wood Stack

20 Jun

Stupid tire on the wheelbarrow..it has actually been flat’ish for 6 months and I have had it with it..slow leaks..lost tire pumps….we switched up and went with an ‘indestructable tire’..no need to put air in it to fill it..it is solid. After I took off the old and put on the new I was amazed at the difference..night and day. My whole lawn is rocky and many times I would be travelling with a load of soil or wood and the tire would not be fully inflated and I would hit a high rock and slam my shin into some exposed metal. I LOVED that!

image
imageOne out of one dogs agree that new wheelbarrow tires saves peoples shins. So..after I got the tire on it was onto some other awaiting tasks..re-piling the wood. I actually had a bunch of photos taken over the weekend but my stipud camera decided not to store them. Anyway..the long and short of it is that A* and I restacked the wood. Its too bad we did not have those pictures as A* was doing tricks and stunting..at one point we we krunkin’ on top of the woodpiles to some hardcore beats. OK, so none of that happened and I am not 100% sure what krunkin is..I think it is a dance.

imageThere were MANY pieces from over the last 3 years that I have been putting aside due to being impossible to split for whatever reason. I set those ones aside during the stacking process and then I took the big pieces and put them around the firepit via the wheelbarrow..this way when I have guests we won’t have to search for wood..I really just should have stacked it but A* and I like to get ideas for what we want an area to be in the future..last year we laid out the flower beds with wiring before we started digging..so it at least seems like we have a plan!
image

Yeah yeah..the whipper snipper still needs to go into the shop. That is another set of photos this stupid camera lost..I was attempting to fix it last week and Jango chased a rabbit right through my legs as I turned to see what the commotion was about!..I did not have a picture of that though..it happened and ended so fast that there was no chance for pics…Jango lost the rabbit after .5 seconds..he is no prolific hunter.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2011 in Animals, Construction, todo, Wildlife

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Task #2 complete – Wood Stack

  1. Ron

    June 21, 2011 at 1:50 pm

    I think I have flattish tires on everything out here. The car has one, the trailer for the mower, the utility trailer, the mower… I actually bought some green slime to help plug slow leaks but never used it…

    The only thing I own without a flattish tire is probably the wheel barrow. :)

    I really like how you did your ends on the wood pile! Pallets are great.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 21, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      ..yeah the flat actually helped in the winter..with snow if the tire is flatter is does not sink as much..not done that way be design but whatever. Yeah the pallets..we are near(ish) to an industrial park so whenever we had the truck in town we grabbed a bunch..it is a common occourance around here but most people use them for massive bonfires. Any port in a a storm..well it also makes it easy to measure a cord of wood..2 pallets long, 1 pallet wide and 1 pallet high = 1 cord of wood..and 4 cord for a year of heat…the 2 piles that are stacked in the picture COULD get us through the year but I use softwood when we get home for a couple of hours to cut down on hardwood costs and get a fire going quick since softwood burns faster.

       
  2. Robin

    June 29, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    That is such a good idea to use the annoying bits of wood that are too hard to split for a bonfire. Pure genius!

    Our wheelbarrow has a flat tire also. It must have gotten together with your wheel barrow because I think they went flat at the same time. Stupid tire. Stupid shin bashing contraption.

     

Leave a Reply

 
