RSS

Passive or active solar heat

11 Jul

..in the winter it can be cruddy coming home from work to 12c. It takes a couple of hours to get the temperature up higher so I am building my own passive solar heater..or active if I add a solar panel and fan..passive to start. I read an article on instructables.com  about it..it seemed easy ro make and I have most of the material on-site.

image

This early stage is fairly easy. Remove the tab, flip it over and drill a 1 inch hole in the bottom of the can below the mouth hole on the top.
image
image
image
Repeat this for around 3 more cans and by my estimation you should have enough heat from the sun to heat the house during the winter…my estimation on the number of cans might be off by 300 or so..unless my house was on Mercury.
image
The basic idea is the air will be drawn into these cans which will be painted black and stacked and caulked together. They will be side by side sort of like the last picture and housed inside a sealed windowed chamber..so the cans are hot and draw air up the cans and into the house..starts lower and rises. I have until October but I wanted to get started while A* is away since I cannot get rollin on the floorin until she gets back…that and fixing the shed. Boo winter…booooo snow….

Yes, someone I know drinks too much Diet Pepsi. Nobody will be complaining about how much diet pepsi I drink when it’s hot in the house in the winter (and my heart is beating 200 bpm thanks to diet pepsi..you should see my mexican hatdance when my heart is pumping like that. Impressive)!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 11, 2011 in Construction, heat

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Passive or active solar heat

  1. Ron

    July 12, 2011 at 12:08 am

    Heh heh… love it. Especially the 200 bpm. :)

    Very cool… I use a couple of 12-volt computer fans to heat my ‘cold’ frame and it works very well, maybe fans like that would be enough to circulate?

    Really interesting project.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      July 12, 2011 at 8:12 am

      hehe..great minds think alike ( and fools seldom differ..(as my mother would say ))! I don’t have all the spare parts kicking around that I did in the past but I did go to RadioShack and picked up a PC fan basically..I think it will be enough for what I need..I don’t need much circulation..just enough to make sure the heated air makes it in the house…this one is going to be 5x5ft roughly so I need more cans..but my buddy has a bunch put aside for me so I think the drilling part should be done by the weekend. this is a ‘filler’ type project for now as the only thing I would use it for over the summer would be for a dehydrator..but then again my tomatoes are not ready. I NEED MY FLOOR DONE! hehe

       
  2. Robin

    July 22, 2011 at 3:01 am

    COOL!

     

Leave a Reply

 
