RSS

..keep your fingers crossed..

13 Jul

..or at least I will! For the last 18 days or so one of the 2 hens has been sitting on 6 eggs. After the last time she made it up until around this time and bolted so I am hoping we get 6 new chicks sometime in the next week. I have everything ready to go now..now I just need the chicks! I am REALLY sick of that rooster we have now..he is constantly crowing. The other day I had a neighbor say to me,  ‘I can hear those 6 roosters crowing all day long!’..yeah…I have not had 6 roosters since March and it is only 1 rooster who LOVES to crow…I fear he learned some bad habits growing up and he never learned to keep his beak shut. I wish he would use his indoor voice when he was outside. Anyway..if ( and I fully expect to ) I get come male chicks it might mean the end for our current rooster..I will not have him teaching bad habits and I am getting tired of getting up to go yell at the rooster in the morning. We will see..perhaps having some younglings will teach the rooster some proper chicken etiquette..he is a savage..the other day I saw him eating his supper without a dinner jacket. the NERVE!

I don’t want to get ahead of myself..a month and a half ago I got to this point with the hen only to be disappointed..first by the lack of chicks..then by the lack of sun.

 
image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2011 in Animals, Fowl

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “..keep your fingers crossed..

  1. Ron

    July 13, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    The waiting is the worst. After I butchered the last big old rooster, the crowing is about 10% what it was. I think he just loved to crow as well.

     
  2. eagergridlessbeaver

    July 13, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    ..he crows for about 45 minutes from 6:15 to 7. I assume he stops at 7 but that is the time I leave for work and when I get home he is not crowing. Also, by this logic the moon is only full when I see it is full.

     

Leave a Reply

 
