RSS

Chicks

21 Jul

the chicks hatched! Not at my place. No. Fine.

These guys respect my power. I open the top of the crate and they chirp and cower in the corner..fighting to get away from me..then promptly fall asleep…it is either my power or natural behavior to keep warm..and maybe a dash of instinct. No, they must have heard of the infrequent tornados I cause in the area..POWER! Hehe

A* saw a local ad for chicks..we got a mish-mash..including a variety with no neck hair..they sort of remind me of chocobo birds. We got 8 to grow up with our 1..we figured if we were going to do 1 then we might as well do 9. Totally cute..hopefully she picked well and we get more than 2 hens in the batch..unlike last years 9. We want 6 hens come winter..cross your wings..I mean cross your chicken fingers.

For the record I was not teasing them or scaring them just for a photo to demonstrate my power..they were sleepy.

image

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2011 in Fowl, Purchases

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Chicks

  1. Ron

    July 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    I like the no-neck hair one. :)

    With any luck, some of them will grow up to be good moms, who sit on their nest.

     
  2. Robin

    July 22, 2011 at 3:16 am

    I love the naked neck one! May you have many females in this batch.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      July 22, 2011 at 8:18 am

      me too. A* is in love with them. WHen I got home she had been home for 3 hours..and done nothing but watch them in their crate…no supper, no work..simply observation and cuddling. And some shots with a tame chick with Jango too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
