RSS

the trials and tribulations of raising chicks

25 Jul

..WHY..why wouldn’t the hen adopt my chicks? They are so cute but this is an emotional roller-coaster ride. We got up this morning and 2 of the chicks were dead. I think it had to do with the hen attacking them the other day..neither of these 2 seemed the same after they were rejected. I went to bed last night and 1 seemed in trouble..not eating, not even staying in the warm area.  Then in the morning..gone. One of the cute little no feathers on the neck chicks. Sad.

Other than that I really hate raising these chicks. they stink..they are up ALL night and they need constant care. I think I can safely say that this will be the last time chickens are ever in my house. I just hope this is the last of the losses. ..I just don’t have the setup to raise chicks by hand..power issues, small space and constantly out doing chores does not add up to a winning combination.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2011 in Fowl

 

4 responses to “the trials and tribulations of raising chicks

  1. Ron

    July 25, 2011 at 11:37 am

    Man, I feel your pain… until people experience chickens firsthand, it’s hard to convey how frustrating they can be. Mine have decided that instead of using my nest boxes, that I put all that time and effort into, they will just lay on the floor and then poop on the eggs. Damn birds.

    Well, I hope things go better. It’s challenging to give them the ideal environment, and even then they sometimes figure out how to kill themselves or otherwise cause hassles.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      July 25, 2011 at 12:20 pm

      ..had I been a little more prepared forrejection with the hen things would be much better off..I just feel bad for the chicks…I know another thing does not help..one of the breeds of the 4 I got is a complete savage..he literally kicks other chicks away from the heat..done enough times they won’t want to come near the heat…darn!

      Oh well..live and learn…I tell you one thing..it’s enough to drive a man to drink..and it’ s only Monday!

       
  2. Robin

    August 3, 2011 at 3:34 am

    I’m sorry! I didn’t lose any baby chicks but boy have I been having chicken woes. I keep asking myself, “why in the world did I order chicks this year?” Sigh.

    Stupid chickens!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      August 3, 2011 at 7:59 am

      ..after the new setup it has been pretty sweet actually..they are quiet and are easy to keep..and on warm days we have an outdoor enclosure too that I built the other day for them. Next time I am starting with 3 week old chicks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
