RSS

Making something crappier with junk

12 Aug

..we had all of the ends off the boards we cut for the flooring. The thin pieces go as firestarter for the winter but we had a bunch of thicker pieces that I thought a shame to simply burn. When A* was on the phone I tacked up a bunch on the ‘deck’..or steps…or entry shelf. It was ugly before but I think it has been upgraded to eyesore level now. We have a bunch more of the end pieces so we may tinker with it..or burn it. Whatever happens first. A* is not sold on it..but we had an estimation for a new huge deck and it was out of our price range.

It’s only a prototype..maybe.

image
image
And painted…
image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2011 in Construction, fun

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Making something crappier with junk

  1. Phoebe

    August 16, 2011 at 3:13 am

    Rock On! I have been behind on reading your blog. You are getting some real progress- the weather is no help here either.
    I love my planer, but the pass back and forth and the fine powder of sawdust is not fun.
    How many blades have you gone through? Buying those puppies is my least favorite thing. We hit a few nails last winter and I was very sad indeed.
    The finished floor looks great.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      August 16, 2011 at 10:36 am

      ..slow and steady wins the race! hehe..We need the floor done this summer for the sake of my sanity..hehe.

      Yeah, I liked the planer..worked well and we did not need to take off the blade to sharpen or replace..the wood is softwood so that might have something to do with it..I cannot imagine how crazy I would have gotten if the blades broke or anything!

       

Leave a Reply

 
