RSS

Cheesy the Ermine

24 Aug

..getting on my motorcycle to head to work and out popped a chipmunk from under the coop and it hopped right towards me. Odd. Then I see Cheesy (an ermine) popping his head out from under the mini-coop too. The chipmunk was startled by me and ran back under the coop and they both vanished for good. Not a great sign since all the chicks are roaming the yard during the day..these days T-bar the older hen stays with them and they are getting used to her presence outside so hopefully she could fend off an attack or at least be loud enough for us to hear it if it did happen. I fear my lack of wanting to capture or kill the varmint will cost me..ah, the first one is free Cheesy..second offense could mean a forced exportation. Our once a month porcupine foiling has been met as of last night too..bumper crop for porcupine this year.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in Animals, Wildlife

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Cheesy the Ermine

  1. Ron

    August 24, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    I haven’t seen a varmint around here for a long time, but it’s caused me to get excessively lax. You just reminded me that I better get out there and lock the coop up.

     
  2. Robin

    September 3, 2011 at 12:19 am

    Ah, Cheesy has returned! I love his name by the way. I need a new pet that I can call cheesy…

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 4, 2011 at 12:17 am

      Yes, the name just came to me while eating cheese. Its a good thing I wasn’t eating chicken when Cheesy was named otherwise it would be Abbot & Costello’ish when I explain to A* that Chickeny is in the chicken coop attacking the chickens. Hehe..groan.

       

Leave a Reply

 
