RSS

Nailed and countersunk’d

29 Aug

..oh my stupid blistered hand. I realized too late but needed a glove to finish up countersinking the 500 or so nails. As I progressed with nailing in the boards the small differences in the widths became big gaps later on in the rows. After I got to a part where I noticed the gaps I was creating I cut off the edges of the wider boards for a snugger fit for the remaining rows. There were some big differences with doing this room due to multiple things..the wide boards, the number of joins, the need to offset joins, the size of the room as well as my lack of patience..compared to the 2 bedrooms this was more difficult..but then again I am really glad I did not start out in the living room.

Ready for stain

image
image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 29, 2011 in Construction, flooring

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Nailed and countersunk’d

  1. Robin

    September 3, 2011 at 12:27 am

    I have wussy girl hands and use gloves for everything. Otherwise I blister like crazy. Lee has gotten to the point that he always takes his ring off or he will get that under ring blister too.

    Cool ring by the way.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 4, 2011 at 12:26 am

      It wasn’t as bad as it felt at the time..felt like there was a battle going on in my hand at the time. Yeah the ring is nice..I bought it pure silver years ago in case I ever needed to melt it down to make a silver bullet to kill a werewolf. And it looked nice. I am kidding about the werewolf obviously..I don’t own a forge.

       

Leave a Reply

 
