RSS

Ma the mouse killa

01 Sep

..was filling up the birdfeeder when I noticed a mouse noticing me on a nearby rock. When I fill up the songbird feeder with black sunflower seeds the older chickens come running..and Ma(the hen) noticed the mouse when she did. She launched into it and threw it, chased it through the brush then pounced on it again and pecked it to death. Impressive.

image
image
image
image
image
image
image

The new chicks like the tarp over the tablesaw ‘playground’..it’s amazing how fast they grow. Seeing Ma work over that mouse helps me understood how she had mortally wounded 2 of the chicks a month ago in our botched adoptation attempt.

A* did not believe me about the mouse..in her own defense it might have something to do with me making up outlandish stories constantly. This sighting was much different than last week when I saw a sparrow carrying a coconut.
image

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Animals, Fowl, Pests

 

Tags: , , , ,

5 responses to “Ma the mouse killa

  1. Ron

    September 1, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    I read that whole first paragraph thinking you were talking about A* destroying the mouse before I read “pecked it” :)

    I’ve seen chickens kill a vole here… them birds is viscous!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 2, 2011 at 7:30 am

      yeah..Ma is a confusing name. I usually just refer to A* as the ball and chain. I edited it for clarity…these hens are a mean spirited bunch!

       
      • eagergridlessbeaver

        September 4, 2011 at 12:38 am

        I would like ‘old ball and chain’ stricken from the records. In its place will be ‘sweet mamma-jamma’. I leave jokes like references to ‘old ball and chain’ as a joke for A* only cause it’s not true.

        She is really quite young.

         
  2. Robin

    September 3, 2011 at 12:35 am

    First of all, I think A* always looks so cute in your pictures of her.

    Second of all, I want a naked neck chicken now.

    Third of all, I can’t believe that you chicken is so mean.

    Forth of all, hmm, can’t think of anything to put in the forth spot.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 4, 2011 at 12:30 am

      I KNOW..she is so adorable, cute and sweet..and talk about photogenic!

      Also I agree on points 3,4 and 1.

       

Leave a Reply

 
