RSS

Use it or lose it..a potential table

07 Sep

..we have had a cut of one of my sisters trees for 2 years now..and I keep saying that I am going to make a table from it. Well, the wood won’t keep forever and with the floor done’ish we want a table..so tonight I put the thought to action..or started. We are going to turn it into a bar height corner table so it takes up less space and we can get 2 stools underneath without taking up more room.

I wheeled out the cut..its been getting wet. With the area we wanted the table measured I transferred the best fit to the crosscut section of the wood…gonzo was very interested in the progress..onto the sawhorses and 10 minutes of chainsawing later we get version 1.

Much, much more hand plane and sandpaper to go before it is done but I think it should look nice and go with the rustic feel of the place..and no more having to slop salsa on the floor as I hover over the coffee table trying to inhale all the wares that fajita night offers me.

image
image
image
image
image

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Construction

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Use it or lose it..a potential table

  1. Ron

    September 7, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Holy smokes, that’s a big slab! That sure will make a really nifty unique table.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 8, 2011 at 7:25 am

      haha..yes it is a huge slab..I worry about if I will ever be able to get it flat..it will be a learning process!

       
  2. Robin

    September 20, 2011 at 11:28 pm

    It looks like that slab of wood is going to break the legs of the table. Is it pretty light wood or heavy wood? It is very pretty wood. Any-O-Ways…I know I’ve already said this but I LOVE Gonzo. That chicken is so ugly it’s cute. :D

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 21, 2011 at 8:01 am

      Indeed..too cute. The wood weighs in at around 60lbs. I am going to build up 1 leg and attach the slab to the wall..we just wanted an idea as to how high we wanted it..it will be 1 foot higher or so

       

Leave a Reply

 
