RSS

Target Practice

21 Sep

Archery is not the type of skill that you can leave for a long time and expect to shoot bulls-eyes. It takes daily practice to perfect stance, shoulder strength, aim and breathing..this was the first time that I set up my crappy homemade target all year

image

Terrible..just terrible. Any of the finesse that I had last year when I was shooting all the time is gone..I only had the patience to shoot 3 rounds of arrows..losing 2 when I went high with my shots. By the end my shoulder was fairly tight..muscle that was built up is gone too. I am not bowhunting this year so its not a huge deal to have such a terrible shot..I guess it gives me something to strive for. We have been too busy for too much downtime..in a sick, sick, sick, sick way I am sorta looking forward to winter when projecy slow waaaaaay down and our work focus’ on keeping warm and snow issues..but there is alot of downtime for reading!

Reminds me, I need to clean the woodstove pipe sometime in the next month.
image

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in fun

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Target Practice

  1. Robin

    September 22, 2011 at 5:37 pm

    When Lee decided I needed a .22 and took me target practicing I smoked him. OHYEAH!!! I had never shot a gun before and somehow I was a complete natural. I couldn’t help it but there was a certain smugness, a certain huge grin, and a certain holding up of my target paper giggling. Ok, so maybe my gun was just easy to shoot and Lee’s gun was harder but still…I like to pretend I am awesome.

    Hmm, writing about this is now making me want smoke Lee again on target practice. It’s been awhile since we have been out too. Now don’t feel to bad for Lee and my amazing super fantastic .22 shooting. I’m scared of trap shooting and refuse to use a shotgun (they hurt) so I will launch the clay pigeons and Let lee explode them until his arm hurts.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      September 24, 2011 at 10:02 am

      You go gurl! Hehe, practicing shooting at targets is also really handy if you ever plan to go hunting for targets…they are as elusive as a snipe.

       
  2. jambaloney

    November 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    i TOTALLY feel your pain!!

    we have been so busy since we arrived “stumbling form one disaster to another”, that i got the re-curve out ONCE….

    my grouping was WAY worse than that, i am scared to even try again!

    i have a Ben Pearson Cougar, what is that lovely looking thing?

    cheers!

     
  3. eagergridlessbeaver

    November 4, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    it is a Bear Magnum Recurve..from the 60’s..I have 2 recurves and a compound..the compound is out of commission right now though. It is more of a hunting bow..

    Oops, that is a browning junior recurve actually..a training bow for inexperienced people who don’t have strong shoudler muscles..with the limited amount I have shot I did nto break out the big bun/bow! hehe

     
  4. jordansequillion

    November 10, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    No worries, it will come back. I practice 6 days a week and I am still working on better.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 11, 2011 at 7:09 am

      Wow..6 days a week..impressive!..I leave in the dark and arrive home in the dark thse days..next spring!

       
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 11, 2011 at 7:17 am

      Just popped over to you blog too..wow, some great tips. I have 2 bad shoulders from separations so those strenght training exercises are great! I will be back!

       
      • jordansequillion

        November 15, 2011 at 1:27 pm

        Good luck with the strength training and take it slow.

         
  5. eagergridlessbeaver

    November 15, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    ..I think I need a new target though..it is too ghetto now that I have a future archery olympian perusing the blog! thanks Jordan! Looking forward to having some more time to peruse your blog!

     

Leave a Reply

 
