RSS

Passive Solar Air Heater Ready For Lift-Off

14 Oct

A* and I caulked up the cans and we left it to dry overnight. I finished off the drilling of the holes on the bottom of the intake and made a middle piece for the top of the cans. The air will then enter a common area to allow the air to network before proceeding in an orderly heated fashion into the area to be heated. I did not want to complicate things so I made the combiner area bigger so I would not need to cut cans..

image
image
image
image

To assure that air only enters through my drilled holes I put on aluminum tape in all possible gaps and over the holes..it also does a great jog of covering horribly drilled holes! I then added all the cans back in and positioned them as i wanted and secured them in place with the middle piece that has the air holes drilled..securing as tight as i could get them. I also doubled up the side pieces for a tight fit so the cans had nowhere to move at all…plus it looks so cute..like a green initiative for selling diet pepsi..heat your house and stay trim too..thanks diet pepsi..groan.
image
image

I attached a too long piece of tube for the air outtake then onto painting. I used woodstove paint along with the high temperature resistant caulk..black for all visible pieces to absorb extra heat..now that the rig is flat black it looks faster doesn’t it?
image ..and the finished project. Ready for mounting..soon. A* and I were chatting too and it looks like a mini coop outside run is making its way onto the project leaderboard..so mounting and rework might be the same day..or not.

The red caulk looks like shite..I pretend the red is flames so the passive solar air heater is both fast and dangerous looking…Prototype complete.
image

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 14, 2011 in Construction, heat

 

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Passive Solar Air Heater Ready For Lift-Off

  1. Ron

    October 14, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    That is one nifty project! Very nicely done.

     
  2. Ali

    October 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

    That is really interesting. I’d love some additional details…. Where did you originally learn about this? If only I could store the warm air an release it an night, it would be great in my hoophouse or chicken coop!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      October 20, 2011 at 9:37 am

      ..I am going to be doing a bigger one with more details but the technology is simple..cool air enters a chamber and is heated. the heating action helps the air rise into the dwelling and as the air heats and rises it pulls more air into the system to heat..No moving parts on this one..I will do an actual fan for the bigger one I will be working on soon. I do have some earlier posts on the beginning/drilling but this is just a small version to work out the kinks. If you want some specific details let me know..I am going to be doing up a hoop greenhouse before snow flies too after I saw it on your site! ( http://www.henbogle.com )

      I have done alot of research on various solar technology and there are some of these heaters available forsale in retail locally…I read http://www.instructables.com articles all the time and saw it on there. In theory if you had a 50 gallon barrell of water above the output on a larger system it would heat the water and the air and the water would store the heat ( water is one of the best storage mechanisms ever made )..and release it over the night..slowly.

       
      • Ali

        October 21, 2011 at 7:55 am

        We have some rain barrels… I wonder if it would really provide enough warmth to work here in Maine. We usually get 1-2 cold snaps where the temps dip well below zero every winter — I think it was last year we had a couple of nights of -17°F.
        We had a brown plastic garbage can full of compost in the hoophouse last year that did not seem to completely freeze…

        Check out the info on building a catepillar tunnel from Johnny’s Seeds, very interesting: http://growingideas.johnnyseeds.com/2011/03/winter-caterpillar-tunnel-structural.html

        My local Cooperative Extension office has a hoop bender to borrow, you might want to suggest it if you have a similar office. That’s what we’ll use for our next one.

        Ali

         
      • eagergridlessbeaver

        October 21, 2011 at 9:34 am

        .this size of heater won’t work well for much of anything but a fullsize would work…but for the hoophouse it might be overkill..if you simply put the full rain barrels in the hoophouse it will store some of the heat overnight and keep temperatures higher in there..the more you have the more stable the temperature as the water acts as a themal mass for the heat generated during the day..so the more storage of the have the slower it will cool down. The compost was proablably OK due to the heat and the fact that compost is hot as it breaks down organic matter…yeah your temperatures are basically the same as it is here.

        I like the catepillar tunnel but I am going to start with a hoophouse to store some things in and to try it out for myself..running out of time for projects though! thanks for the link!..I don’t even know if there is a cooperative extension in the area..I really sould know that!! thanks for the info again..and if you see anything that give you ideas..

         
  3. Robin

    November 5, 2011 at 2:02 am

    COOL! I was wondering when you were going to put all those cans into use.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 5, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Yeah..it is my favorite kind of project, a completed one! Hehe..slow and steady wins the race, the actual heater should be ready soon..like 2013

       
  4. Jonno

    November 14, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I am actually pleased to glance at this website posts which contains lots of valuable data, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.

    This video post is truly impressive, the noise feature and the picture quality of this tape post is truly awesome.

    Hello to every body, it’s my first visit of this website; this web site contains remarkable and genuinely good stuff designed for visitors.

    Hurrah, that’s what I was looking for, what a material! existing here at this website, thanks admin of this site.

    Hi, constantly i used to check blog posts here early in the dawn, for the reason that i love to gain knowledge of more and more.

    Hello to every , as I am in fact eager of reading this webpage’s post to be updated daily. It contains nice information.

    I all the time emailed this website post page to all my associates, because if like to read it then my contacts will too.

    Can you please forward me the code for this script or please enlighten me in detail concerning this script?

    Your method of explaining all in this paragraph is truly good, all can easily be aware of it, Thanks a lot.

    Excellent way of explaining, and nice article to take information on the topic of my presentation subject, which i am going to present in institution of higher education.

    Hello, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to take newest updates, thus where can i do it please help out.

    Hello, after reading this amazing piece of writing i am too glad to share my knowledge here with mates.

    Marvelous, what a blog it is! This weblog presents valuable facts to us, keep it up.

    Hi there all, here every person is sharing these knowledge, so it’s pleasant to read this website, and I used to visit this web site everyday.

    What a funny blog! I actually loved watching this comic video with my relatives as well as together with my friends.

    Pictures are truly pleasant source of instruction instead of passage, its my knowledge, what would you say?

    What’s up, its pleasant post regarding media print, we all understand media is a great source of data.

    Hi, this weekend is nice in favor of me, because this point in time i am reading this impressive informative paragraph here at my residence.

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am really impressed to read everthing at one place.

    Nice replies in return of this issue with real arguments and telling all regarding that.

    I pay a quick visit everyday some blogs and websites to read content, but this blog presents feature based writing.

    Certainly high resolution video quality carries much memory, that’s why it provides enhanced feature.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 15, 2011 at 2:14 pm

      wow..I approved this comment but it seems like spam..or english translation software working too hard. Hopefully the 2nd of the 2…I became suspicious when you said I had useful content..I work hard at not providing useful content!

       

Leave a Reply

 
