RSS

Giving a mountain ash a better life

15 Oct

..I found this little guy huddled under a bunch of alders I was trimming out of the overgrown ‘ditch’ out near the main road in. I could not cut him down like the rest of the doomed trees..a diamond in the rough..so I dug him out and later When the work was done I planted him in the rear side of our new flower bed from a week ago. We always had mountain ash in our yard growing up. Nice orange berries in the fall.

We all do our part for road chores. I trimmed up the ditches and some of the other folks laid down some fresh gravel..winter is coming.

image

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2011 in Construction, Gardening

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Giving a mountain ash a better life

  1. jambaloney

    November 4, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    that tree with the berries is a “mountain ash” ?

    have a few here @ fm and was wondering what they were…

    the berries are screaming red along the roadsides this time of year!

     
  2. eagergridlessbeaver

    November 4, 2011 at 1:38 pm

    affirmative..I had them all my life but it wasn’t until the spring that I knew ‘hey Ma, what kind of trees had those orange berries in our front yard when we were a kid?’ hehe..yeah, they are not so common around here but in places like CB and Parrsboro they are common(er). I know the starlings like them! Red might be choke cherries.

     
  3. Robin

    November 5, 2011 at 2:06 am

    We planted two mountain ash trees in our fruit tree area. This was the first year that we got berries on one of the trees. I didn’t do anything with them though. Maybe next year when we get more than a handful…

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 5, 2011 at 9:55 am

      Nice looking trees in fall..add some more color. One of my favorite trees..not that i have a list or anything.

       

Leave a Reply

 
