RSS

Accessorizing The Gate

21 Oct

..hunting season starts in a couple of weeks and the traffic near my place has been 3 times as busy as usual..so 3 atv’s this week went by my place..mostly near dusk..this week 2 of them decided to use my private driveway..not that I mind sharing but I don’t like encouraging people to come to the area when I don’t know them, especially when they take my entry chains down..that is when thefts happen.  So I strung up some more orange tape so nobody accidentally drives into it..and a new ‘Keep Out’ sign so people won’t make a mistake and accidentally take the chain down..I don’t actually know how someone could accidentally take a chain down for the record.

image
image

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2011 in Construction

 

5 responses to “Accessorizing The Gate

  1. Julia

    October 22, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Ah … a little dose of reality for me. I find myself thinking that if we just lived in the woods off-grid then general society wouldn’t irritate me so much. Apparently, you just can’t escape the irritating faction.

     
  2. Ann

    October 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    No word of a lie, Beav, I know a yahoo who managed to nearly decapitate himself on an ATV while hauling a$$ down a road he didn’t know. He hit a chain much like yours, and severed his trachea and ended up with paralyzed vocal cords. He successfully sued the landowner and won so much money (7 figures), he never had to work again. Mind you, there are easier ways to make money…but really…he was trespassing, but the courts still sided with him.

    Please, I beg of you, put something retro-reflective on that chain, the bigger the better, like a slow moving vehicle placard or something.

    The sad reality is that people are going to trespass no matter what. And the hunting yahoos who trespass are packing heat and booze, a dangerous combination. We had a pair of Rambos stop their car in front of our house and kill a pair of foxes – we called the cops and the guys had their arms confiscated and were fined, but I lived in fear for a while afterwards, since it was pretty obvious who called the cops. Crap like that really pisses me off though. It was hard to turn a blind eye to it.

    The old trespassing issue is not going to go away, and the idiots with a sense of entitlement are always going to be around, unfortunately. That’s also why I wear bright orange when working outside during hunting season.

    Stay safe!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      October 22, 2011 at 11:35 pm

      I do actually have some reflective tape and it wouldn’t hurt any to be safe. There is also gates on either side of the chain here too so i don’t worry too much. 98% of the traffic is people we know..it is very infrequent to get anyone on the trail cameras too…but like you say, even the numbers cannot rule out the chance of an accident happening.

      We dress in orange or don’t go walking in the deep woods during hunting season..people do hunt within miles of here and I find it hard to have a relaxing walk in the woods when i am worried about being shot! Hehe..thanks for stopping by!

       
  3. Robin

    November 5, 2011 at 2:19 am

    Accidents happen. I mean how do I manage to smack myself in the forehead with my own cup of coffee, or walk into walls, or, well, ok, so maybe it’s just me. :)

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 5, 2011 at 10:02 am

      I concur..I not for me though since I am as nimble as a gazelle and have Batman like powers of observation..I actually have a superhero power where I can catch anything before it falls..a glass sitting on the middle of a table is always safe when I am near. Seriously though, better safe than sorry!

       

Leave a Reply

 
