RSS

Asteroid 2005 YU55

08 Nov

On the off-chance that we are all not here tomorrow I wanted to post about the cause..Asteroid 2005 YU55. It is the size of an aircraft carrier and will pass BETWEEN earth and the moon..Sure, that is 860000 miles but in space that is a near miss…it is like going for a bulls-eye and hitting the metal part between bullseye and whatever color surrounds a bullseye..close. If you have a powerful telescope, fast hands, clear skies and a warm blanket go out and take a look..I am hoping to see a placebo version of it and at the exact time it is expected to pass I am going to get A* to throw a tennis ball painted like an asteroid..if you hear a story on the news tomorrow about a dog who destroyed an asteroid just ignore it.

Also, if you see something that bleeds acid in the next couple of days it wasn’t an asteroid in the air but an elaborite ruse…they were really filming ‘Aliens 5’ as a reality TV show…

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 8, 2011 in fun

 

4 responses to “Asteroid 2005 YU55

  1. jambaloney

    November 8, 2011 at 3:00 pm

    i count on being here tomorrow, jobs to do! ;-)

    i\ll keep my eyes peeled for the story though, it will be good to know a celebrity!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 8, 2011 at 3:17 pm

      Hehe..don’t ask for an autograph..Loki has terrilbe spelling and pawmenship..groan. hehe

       
  2. Lee

    November 10, 2011 at 2:05 am

    I read about the asteroid, and then I read I needed a telescope to even catch a glimpse of it. So .. instead of invisible aircraft carrier rocks, I recommend looking at Jupiter. It’s the gray “star” following the moon across the sky, and it’s brighter yesterday and tonight than it will be for years to come. We went out to look for it last night, and I was going to take some bad photos tonight but it was cloudy.

    Happy Carl Sagan Day!!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 10, 2011 at 7:49 am

      hehe..yeah the asteroid was an 11 and Jupiter is a -3 on the visibility scale ( the full moon is a -12)..I have used my massive binoculars to look at it and the moons..pretty neat but I did away with v1 of my stand..I have a hard time spending time on recreational projects..I have had all of the equipment for a washer toss game for months but I still avoid it..easier now with winter coming! In the future I want a big honkin telescope..but I don’t have the space for it now..soon!! hehe

       

Leave a Reply

 
