RSS

Maintain the Bank

18 Nov

..3 of my 8 batteries are having issues..took them out of the mix and put them on the rose rug of shame so these batteries can take some time out to think about what they have done..bad batteries!! BAD!

image
image11.69 was the reading I got with the voltmeter ( without getting into the extra complication of temperature)..11.69 is considered a fully discharged battery for all intensive purposes…Batteries are freekin odd..12.65 is full and 11.89 is empty. Stupid if you ask me. I like 100% for full and 0% for empty..but that is just me and I didn’t invent electricity or batteries.
imageThe spot charger that we use is not the best as it only charges 1 way ( when batteries typically need 3 types of charges to reach full )..but I hooked it up anyway and applied a charge for a couple of hours. I am afraid of taking a reading so I avoided it..I like putting off bad news until I cannot avoid it any longer..by the way does anybody know if Stephen Harper won the election in the spring?

Even the ‘good’ batteries are not up to where they need to be but I will leave that for the solar panels to recharge. The jury is still out on them. This reading was taken shortlly after I reconnected the good ones after I took the ‘bad’ ones out.image

I really think these batteries are screwy the more I think about it..I don’t usually think about how much power we SHOULD since when it is there it is doing what it is supposed to do but this bump has made me revaluate things. Each battery is rated for 108amp hours x 8 batteries…so theoretically I should be able to run  2 CFL lights at 2.5 amps draw for 346 hours..we are nowhere near that when our charge is ‘full’..nowhere near. Sure, some of that is lost in converting to 120v from 12v but still. Anyway we will see whats up..we both knew the day would come when these batteries would be toast but I was hoping for 40 more years.

 ..also in case anyone wants to learn more this is where much of my quick info comes from: http://marine-electronics.net/techarticle/battery_faq/b_faq.htm

 
7 Comments

Posted by on November 18, 2011 in power

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Maintain the Bank

  1. Sonny

    November 18, 2011 at 7:48 am

    You should really use a load tester. It will tell you if it is in the “green” under a load.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 18, 2011 at 7:23 pm

      Since your pos I have looked at how to load test..and I agree. Most things about the system we learned as we went..not too many battery issues so I am learning more now. Any advice?

       
      • Sonny

        November 18, 2011 at 9:04 pm

        Try googling for “Battery Load Tester” and you will find one. They generally cost around $25.00. You may even find one at a automotive parts store like AutoZone or Pepboys. They will test both 6v or 12v.

         
  2. jambaloney

    November 20, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    i hope the load test goes well… i don’t know about this brand of battery, but it looks like you might be able to replace/fix the acid/water in them (if you are brave) – i see little screw caps you could burn your skin on if you open them…

    i probably would ;-))

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 20, 2011 at 8:48 pm

      Yeah ,I might try that..we will see soon either way. The 4 have been running things fine so far anyway but that is just a problem waiting to happen!

       
      • Sonny

        November 20, 2011 at 9:45 pm

        The load tester is a good tool to have handy anyway. When your off grid you have to be ready.

         
      • eagergridlessbeaver

        November 22, 2011 at 7:36 am

        going to grab one..usually the posts are 4-5 days behind reality..the 4 have been working fine and trickle charging the others in the meantime..I will have a boring post on that soon!hehe

         

Leave a Reply

 
