RSS

Fixing broken stuff

20 Nov

In a past life I just would have thrown out this headlamp which was not working properly. The light keeps shutting on and off so rather than toss it I figured I would fix it. The switch was not working since the crack developed when I was standing on it so I disassembled it. The switch was out of place.

image
image
image
image So I gutted it and crazy-glued it together..works fine all apart after glue so I put it all back together and it works..as good as it did before. Not well enough..so after 10 years the light is kaput. Hehe..A* and I have a motto these days ,if we cannot make it worse then we might as well try to fix it…a small example, sure (and a failure at that)…but at least now I finally have an excuse to upgrade my headlamp without the guilt of already having working light. In reality I guess that would be getting a new one. Into the evergrowing electronics frankenstein vault with the old and to the store for a new!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2011 in Construction

 

2 responses to “Fixing broken stuff

  1. jambaloney

    November 20, 2011 at 4:52 pm

    that’s the spirit though, ya gotta try and fix it (me thinking about the tons of stuff in the basement awaiting an operation)

    it feels better replacing something when you know you did all you could to fix it wrap it in 15 layer of duct tape and loki has a new toy!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      November 20, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      Haha, you are right! I try to fix stuff..worked for my Ma’s dishwasher and clothes dryer..not this though..a toy it is!

       

Leave a Reply

 
