RSS

Back to the Shack

25 Nov

..away for some training for a couple of days this week..I am really not used to being in the big city anymore and I was literally counting the hours down near the end. Big cities are (once again) nice places to visit but I don’t think I could ever live in one again. I have only seen 4 dogs here and 2 of those were owned by homeless people…I was downtown so I guess that is to be expected since most people are in condos and apartments. Not to mention how difficult it must be to track animals there. Hehe.  Our place is no mansion or anything but the silence speaks volumes…which reminds me, hunting season is almost over..it’s getting old walking the dogs through the subdivision..back to the trails soon!

image
image
image
image

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2011 in Philosophy

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Back to the Shack

  1. jambaloney

    November 26, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    hey, no snow in o-town!!??!!

    i was back in july and had the same reaction, i will never live in a big city again !!

    as you said ** the silence speaks volumes **

    amen brother!

     
  2. kymber

    November 26, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    egb – i left my beautiful island with a heavy heart 25 years ago….praying that i could someday return. i spent the majority of those 25 years in ottawa…and though i am grateful for all that i experienced and learned…i will be happy to never set foot in a city again. our biggest city in cape breton is sydney – population 30,000. everytime i go to sydney – my skin crawls, i feel dirty, the noise does my head in, i need 5 days to recover – you get the picture!

    i recognize all of your photos and they are pretty…but i never want to see that place again. glad you are home. get an atv – you’ll love it!

    your friend,
    kymber

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      December 1, 2011 at 9:52 am

      hehe..yeah, a nice place to visit. I am mostly done with cities..not enough wilderness there. give me wide open spaces or a space filled with trees and wildlife any day of the week..you can have your 4000 Starbucks..coffee from my perculator on the woodstove tastes 10 times better!..every time I go into a big city I am amazed at how everything is the same..block to block and city to city..the same. talk about boring…I tried to make it more exciting by getting a dose of the flu and barfing on a busy sidewalk but the people who saw me do it did not seem excited by it. hehe

       
  3. Robin

    December 9, 2011 at 5:34 am

    Hmm…are you sure it was the flu and not a really exciting night at a bar? lol I couldn’t live in the city anymore either. Well…maybe when I’m old and feeble. Living in a nice posh place where people wipe your butt and cook your food for you might not be so bad.

     
  4. eagergridlessbeaver

    December 9, 2011 at 8:04 am

    hehe..no self induced sickness..I am very familiar with the effects of being booze-sick! ( but I did visit a bar I liked..but was too queasy to return after being sick. the bartendress ate half of my meal and I had the same converstation with a regular 4 times over 1 hour..PERFECT(reminded me of the years I spent bartending )

    When I am old and feeble I want a bidet..but just so I can say I own a bidet…no need for wiping..just drying! hehe

     

Leave a Reply

 
