RSS

On a Roll with Bathroom Flooring

09 Jan

The flooring we bought has been hanging around getting in the way so we decided to stop doing hurdles in the entryway with it and just install it instead. We bought some cheap stuff but it was a type that was tear/rip resistant at least. When we were renovating our old house we put in new vinyl flooring in the kitchen and mid-install we ripped a hole in it…bummer. the most timportant things for an install like this is is going slow..we took out everything not nailed down and put it convieniently 2 ft outside the door of the bathroom..you never know when you might need to wash your hands in a non-working sink when installing flooring so 2 ft away from your cramped workspace is perfect. Heheimage

image

Out comes the bathroom sink, after some effort..in comes the flooring we cut after we measured the pattern out on the flattened flooring in an even more cramped living area..it is not easy finding a 10×12 free space in a 24×24 house.

image

I did not want to disconnect the heavyweight cast iron tub so we resorted to a flooring shimmy as I would tilt and A* would feed and fit the flooring.

image

A highy technical and extra patient A* does a final trim around the terlet then around the baseboard area where the fit is too tight….and done!

image

Tile someday but done sounds pretty nice. We are 1/3 of the way through wood stove season then it is onto landscaping season so inside jobs need some attention! We hope.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 9, 2012 in Construction, flooring

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “On a Roll with Bathroom Flooring

  1. doublebhomestead

    January 12, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today. I started to read your blog today and it is very interesting. But it will take me a while to go back on your older posts so I can get the whole story of your adventure. Oh yeah, go to Wally World or a sporting goods store and buy some of the smaller packets of Mountain House and give them a try. Like I said, not the best you will ever taste, but if you can eat Chef-Boy-Ar-Dee you can eat this. Then you can save your big cans for when TSHTF.

     
  2. eagergridlessbeaver

    January 13, 2012 at 11:54 am

    It is always nice to find a new interesting blog..I don’t get out as much as I should on other blogs! Yeah, if you get a chance take a look around..still filling in some missing data for a couple years back but I am starting to get to the end of them now..and, I guess I did not buy them for flavor ( and yes I can eat Chef-boy-ar-dee..I used to eat it right from the can cold as I was driving my motorcycle through all the Canadian provinces while on a tour! hehe )

     

Leave a Reply

 
