RSS

New Google Maps Progress

21 Feb

Looks like there has been some updating on google maps. This looks like it was taken a couple of months ago..like December based on the junk in the yard..no much so it must have been after we did all the trim work as the wood was stored out front and the pile was big enough it would have stood out. I need to dig up an old version of the overhead shot but it really is amazing the changes over the last 4 years. The red dots are our place and the other is the spot @ the stillwater where Loki broke through the ice last month..I was going to do a bunch of dotted places but then realized there were only 2 spots of importance. Even this map is now outdated as they have begun clearning and foundation work on 2 more properties on the road in! ( the road with the developed properties on it, the other ‘road’ is the old rough road we used for year 1..the road which houses the crevasses from posts last week! Hehe)

..we were the first dwelling on the road..development is encroaching

..I think I am standing in front..and you can sorta see the Canada flag on the shed..nice

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2012 in Construction, fun

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “New Google Maps Progress

  1. Shim Farm (@ShimFarm)

    February 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    Just be grateful the Google car hasn’t driven by yet. Our place looks like a dump since we were tearing out stuff upstairs, and threw everything outside out of desperation. Lookin’ very white-trash, our place is…talk about mortifying.

    If you have Google Earth, you can see the date of the satellite image in the lower left-hand corner. You can also slide between historical images using the little clock icon with the green around around it.

    Don’t know how close your nearest “urban” centre is, but development is crazy everywhere. It’s kinda scary when neighbours are encroaching. I took a long walk in our woods on the weekend, and I figure it’d be a great place to build a cottage…

    By the looks of things, you ain’t gonna be gridless for very long LOL! Enjoy it while it lasts…

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      February 22, 2012 at 9:50 am

      ..me thinks it might be a while unless they have an offroad version of the google car! hehe….they did get to within 30 km of here with the google car though..I found myself parked in our truck waiting for A* to get off work ( and I remember seeing it drive by too). Yes, I am VERY familiar with google maps but the phone version is shitty and I have not been on my laptop to look at it yet.

      When places are all the way up to the homestead we will sell and get a bigger piece of land where we can have privacy forever. I am shocked at the pace of development in this little subdivision…we will see. hehe..and I don’t worry too much about how things look or what people think..which always drove my neighbors crazy which is why I like having places with nobody beside me…I can’t tell you how many conversations I had with neighbors in our old place where they would hint around the fact I should be cutting the grass shorter in my backyard…to which we responded by stopping cutting the grass at all. More nature that way!

       
  2. kymber

    February 22, 2012 at 12:21 am

    teehee…i think i see you outside waving at us! we’re lucky that google maps doesn’t care about the area that we live in! you can’t even zoom in on it and we are glad for that! if i ever saw that google car driving around here, i would laugh to kill myself. then shoot out the tires on it. bahahahahah! we’re kind of “Deliverance” around here!

    your friend,
    kymber

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      February 22, 2012 at 9:57 am

      my eyesight is not that good..although I do have an app which shows the various satellites going overhead. I love maps and google earth..I just like knowing where I am and what is around me..I proabably never mentioned it on here but I have an uncanny sense of direction which is only improved with map knowledge. Last weekend we did a 20km hike and 1/2 way through A* asked where we were..I had no idea but a vague idea..pop open google maps and it showed us we were lost..or at least in an area in the middle of nowhere…it did give us the area but the trails could not be seen..so I had to rely upon my uncanny sense of direction to guide us out cause walking back the same trail is so 1990! hehe..

      Deliverance..hopefully the canoeing type and not the banjo/pig-squealing type! Jam does sort of remind me of John Voight…hehe

       

Leave a Reply

 
