RSS

They Don’t Make Them…

13 Apr

..like they used to. Dang, this is the 2nd maul I have broken in 3 years..I am only splitting around 4 cord a year too for the love of frink!
image

the fiberglass snaps at the head..good thing that it did not happen mid swing…could have done some real damage.

image

A* celebrates the end of the splitting for the day..we have enough for 2-3 days but I need to get something ( else ) more reliable. The maul has a 5 year warranty so it won’t cost anything to replace..but I want one with a wood handle and I think I have a maul head in the shed.

image

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2012 in heat, power, todo

 

7 responses to “They Don’t Make Them…

  1. jambaloney

    April 13, 2012 at 8:53 am

    i learned the same lesson the same way – i have a few cheap fiberglass handles tools left, but it’s all wood from here on in – you can replace the handles – who would have thought ??!!

    snow looks all gone ;-)

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      April 16, 2012 at 10:36 am

      yeah, I have an old maul without a handle in the shed..need to dig that out! Yep, snow is all gone..thank the weather gods!

       
  2. Ron

    April 13, 2012 at 1:05 pm

    I have a couple of wood ones that are about due for new handles. As soon as they aren’t perfect anymore, I start worrying about the thing flying off.

    I know a guy who has a one-piece metal splitter, says he’s used it for 30 years. I think when my handles are declared dead I might try making a metal one.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      April 16, 2012 at 10:37 am

      my neighbor actually made an all metal one and has used it for 30 years..wow, now that is durable!

       
  3. ShimFarm

    April 13, 2012 at 11:05 pm

    Get thee a Gränsfors maul from Lee Valley. Worth every bleeding penny. Eric split the handle on a Crappy Tire maul, some garbage carbon fibre/fibreglass hybrid, and man, did that thing splinter into a million shards. Back to Crappy Tire it went. Same thing for our splitting wedges – one chipped while being driven in with the sledge and the shrapnel caught Eric in the leg. Nothing like watching your spouse drag his bleeding leg across the snow to make you take notice LOL…

    Since then, it’s safety glasses, hearing protectors, good gloves, and the Gränsfors axe to round things out. Can’t be too safe, as far as I’m concerned.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      April 16, 2012 at 10:41 am

      too true, safety first! ( I lost a fingernail when trying to unstick a maul with a sledgehammer..wet wood is the worst! ) Looking at options..I looked at the Gränsfors but am not looking into an all metal 14.5lb monster maul. I NEVER want to have a broken maul again! hehe

       
      • jleejj

        April 19, 2012 at 2:11 am

        I’ve used an all-metal sledgehammer before, and the experience was not a pleasant one. Wood and fiberglass handles dampen the impact vibrations a lot more. I prefer wood handles on axes and other swinging tools, but they all break eventually. I overswung and snapped off the handle on one of our mauls the first time I used it.

        I didn’t know Gränsfors made mauls. Dang is that expensive!

         

Leave a Reply

 
