RSS

Ma Round 2 and the Annual Running of the Tadpoles

09 May

Out hiking the other day and we saw some frogs eggs in a puddle on the old driveway. Went back for some of the egg bunches and put them on the deck and they sat for a week..walking by today and saw something moving…off to the stillwater.image

And Ma decided to be broody again with the weather warming up. Lets see if she makes it more than a week this round. More strange chicken creations..? Lets not count those chickens until they have hatched..groan.

image..and Ma is the broody hen, for the record.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2012 in Construction

 

6 responses to “Ma Round 2 and the Annual Running of the Tadpoles

  1. kymber

    May 9, 2012 at 10:31 am

    hey egb – our swamp down the river is full of eggs and our pond out front of the house has 3 big egg clusters – i check them hourly!!! question – does the jar have air holes? do they need air holes?

    your friend,
    kymber

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 11, 2012 at 12:18 pm

      yes, holes in the jar Kymber..I don’t think they need air until they hatch but I am no expert..I usually put airholes in everything! hehe

       
  2. jambaloney

    May 10, 2012 at 6:45 am

    nice rescue – hopefully they will respond in kind by coming back and eatning blackfiles!!

    ma looks a little crancky – maybe she needs some disco?? ;-))

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 11, 2012 at 12:20 pm

      hehe, thanks! they will be back..we see a gaggle of tiny toads and frogs every year..which makes me happy I cannot really mow my lawn..I must have killed hundreds of toads mowing lawns as a kid!

      She is a crank..disco music would not be good unless I installed the disco ball to go with it..hehe

       
  3. Robin

    May 15, 2012 at 3:13 am

    Toads don’t hop out of the way when you mow? I didn’t know that. I wouldn’t mind a toad around here. I think I see about one tree frog here every year. At least I think they are tree frogs.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 15, 2012 at 10:07 am

      no..they are usually too busy doing math problems on a calculator to get out of the way…toads usually hunker down rather than try to get away..many times you can go right over top of them and they won’t move or get hurt..but then there are the other times when you see toad bits flying out the side of the mower. Toads are here all summer in the yard..on occasion I will be outside at night ( such as observing meteors) and I will hear strange noises that temporarily freak me out until I realize it is a toad jumping up against something. If it is in a tree and not in a pond I am willing to bet it might be a tree frog..and tree frogs are usually much smaller than the local Leopard frogs. there is your nature fact of the day! hehe

       

Leave a Reply

 
