RSS

hoder?

13 Jun

Not sure if anyone out there is a ‘Game of Thrones’ fan..but A* and I are..and it was easy to give one of the chicks the name of ‘hoder’ after what happened on the weekend. Ma and her chicks were out in the yard and A* scared them accidentally..and when she did Ma jumped and came down on the little yellow chicks head..we thought he was a goner for sure. He was flopping all around and finally had some spasms and laid still..and Ma walked away leaving him to die..A* and I watched this up until the point where Ma walked away..then we sprung into action…the little guy was bleeding a little from the right eye a little but unmoving so I took him inside, put him in a small container and put a lightbulp on him for heat. For about 2 hours he just huddled and could not open his eyes..not moving the whole time…4 hours later there did not seem to be much improvement and it was near dark so A* took him back out to put him under Ma for the night. A* and I gave ‘hoder’ a 7% chance to make it through the night..or to survive at all.

Well, the next morning came and ‘hoder’ was still alive but still seemed quite dazed and could not open his eyes..a little slow..which is normal ( I would think) when you have your head crushed…so we named him after the mentally challenged character from ‘Game of Thrones’ (Hoder(Hoder,HODOR,HOODOOOOR))..we had to leave for the day and we gave him a 15% chance to survive until the evening..

image

The evening came and hoder seemed to show improvements..one eye open and the other swelled shut..but more movement and not just sitting in one place and also was chirping.

image

..and if you look close you can see the swollen right eye.

image

I was not sure if things would keep improving so I did not post up..but it has been 2 more days and hoder has both eyes open, is eating and drinking and seems to be getting back to normal(ish)..still a little slow but now seems to be doing much the same as the other chicks..but chirps more..we give hoder a 82% chance of a full recovery now..Oh the drama of only having 4 chicks..if we had 20-30 chicks I am not sure I would have spent any time trying to save the chick but I am glad we did…so far.

image

And some summer’y shots of the stillwater area..the ferns make things look really pretty.

A* inspects the water leve..and the beavers are gone..not sure if it was natural or gun-induced but they are gone..the dam seems to have settled somewhat and the water level has been dropping..too bad but what can ya do!

image

image

image

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 13, 2012 in Animals, Fowl

 

6 responses to “hoder?

  1. kymber

    June 14, 2012 at 6:55 am

    beautiful pics egb! i don’t watch the show but i think we can get it on netflix…i’ll check and see. poor little baby chick….is he still getting better?

    your friend,
    kymber

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 19, 2012 at 8:57 am

      it will be worth it! Yeah, hoder is still slow but steady improvement..a week now and still going!

       
  2. jambaloney

    June 14, 2012 at 3:08 pm

    you guys get a feather in your cap, yo! go hoder!! (never seen the show ;-)

    bummer about the stillwater, but where one beaver shoves off, another often moves in quickly enuff! looking gorgeous down there – cheers pal!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 19, 2012 at 8:58 am

      yeah, I am hoping to get a beaver back in there..will help with the water level! take care!

       
  3. Phoebe

    June 17, 2012 at 3:14 am

    Even when I have 30 chicks, I’m a sucker for the hurt ones. I carry them around in my shirt while I do chores, which prompted my family to nickname me “The Chickenbreast Woman”.
    I’m not proud of it …. but it’s true.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      June 19, 2012 at 8:59 am

      hehe, too funny! I guess there is worse things than being know as the chickenbreast woman! hehe

      I always say..it’s nature, it is OK if a chick dies..then I panic and try to do everything I can to save the chick…

       

Leave a Reply

 
