RSS

Near the Halfway Point

14 Jan

image

Well..we are nearing the halfway point of wood burning..and snow but we have little of it and it is scheduled to be 11c today so the snow we have is melting away…and so is the base of snow we had on our driveway. Once we build up a good 3-4 inch base of snow the driveway is nice and smooth..but it is back into spring mess stage right now.

image

image

..the wood is holding up nicely too..SUCH a difference in heat once we switched over to buring hardwood a couple of weeks ago..burning the scrap softwood is a necessary evil but the hardwood is champ!..2.5 months to go..hopefully it will get cold again but without too much snow.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Construction, snow

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Near the Halfway Point

  1. ShimFarm

    January 19, 2013 at 9:24 am

    It can’t be over quick enough for me. I am going stir-crazy here. If this lasts until April, I’ll be a goner.

    We ended up with a lot of sh!t wood this year. The fact that Eric took until something like November to cut the logs did NOT help. I’ve stopped bitching though. Next year, I’m in charge, and the wood I am going to order will be already cut and chopped and I’ll even stack it all by myself if I have to. Thankfully, we’ve had a mild winter so far, and we’re saving all of the really well-seasoned hardwood for when we really need it.

    While I consider a wood stove a PITA with all the work it creates, there’s NOTHING like warming the old bones beside the stove. It’s what makes winter bearable, in my mind…

     
  2. Robin

    January 25, 2013 at 2:18 pm

    We had to order a wood load a couple of weeks ago. Lee burned his hand bad and he couldn’t do any chopping. We still have plenty of wood left over from this summer but it is all wet and needs split. Somehow I didn’t get around to stacking this summer and Lee didn’t have time to split.

     

Leave a Reply

 
