RSS

New Yard Chores

17 May

image

..in the past we did not have much of a ‘lawn’..the ‘yard’ was a hilly, rock strewn weedy disaster. Last summer we changed things up and added fill and grass seed..and all of sudden we get a new chore..weeding. Dandelions have not established themselves in the new areas..but anywhere there was grass (weeds) from last year it needed to be weeded..bad. So with our trusty dandelion puller ( which is older than I am) we got started…4 hours later we were mostly done..

image

image

image

..there…all of the dandelions gone..for now. We did not do behind the house but I don’t think we have it in us today. If the dandelions come back they may be having an extended visit cause there is no way I am spending that much time on this task next year. After A* fell asleep later that night she woke up after an hour of sleep complaining of having nothing but nightmares with dandelions in them..

image

image

 
8 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2013 in Construction, Gardening

 

8 responses to “New Yard Chores

  1. Practical Parsimony

    May 17, 2013 at 11:44 am

    While you still know where the roots are, take a pot or kettle of hot water and pour on the roots. That will kill them. Or, use a squirt bottle of vinegar on any that come back. Do both.

    You could eat the dandelion greens in a salad before they have flowers.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 28, 2013 at 3:29 pm

      I never thought of eating them..the chickens did though and seemed to love them!

      Next year we will resort to more drastic measures..if we even bother..it was a PAIN!

       
  2. James Mackenzie

    May 17, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    DUDE!!

    waaay too much work – you guys are gonna kill yerselves!! skip the grass and grow as much clover as you can buy – between the clover and dandelions, it will always look green – mow high and enjoy the yellow is a seasonal bonus ;-))

    plus more bees for the garden and practical p is right – free lettuce!!

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm

      I concur! It was WAAAAAAAY to much..the clover sounds interesting..truthfully if we didn’t do the landscaping last year I would not even care..so once a year passes I don’t think we will be sinking in that much time.

       
  3. ShimFarm

    May 19, 2013 at 10:11 pm

    That is a frikken’ chore, my friend. I did the same thing today. The good news is that in a few days, they will have finished blooming, and when you run the mower through…well…all the green blends in together.

    LOL…my dandelion poker is older than me too, I expropriated it from my mother years ago. The handle gets painted day-glo orange every summer, because I have a tendency to throw it in the compost with my last load of dandelions. If that thing went missing, I’d have to move…

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 28, 2013 at 3:32 pm

      hehe..yes it is an effective tool! Its not that I overly mind dandelions…its just that this year I want the grass established and not only a yard ot dandelions. Yes..I am awaiting the end of bloom season

       
  4. Robin

    May 20, 2013 at 1:56 am

    That is insane. I can’t decide if I’m impressed by your dedication or horrified at the thought of spending four hours bent over weeding. My back would be toast after that.

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      May 28, 2013 at 3:33 pm

      ..its 4 hours x 2 really. And now we are up to 7 full wheel barrows…sad.

       

Leave a Reply

 
