RSS

First Night in the Tiny Off Grid Cabin

26 Jan
First Night in the Tiny Off Grid Cabin

Well, the first night in the tiny cabin/house is complete! Thanks to finishing installing the woodstove last week. -14c outside. 24c inside at bedtime.

..besides having to climb into the loft ( ladder/steps to be built) things went well. It was warm and cozy all night. One thing I will be doing in the future..crawling under the structure to attach rigid insulation..the floor was really cold and while high in the loft we were warm, the floor was very cold and cold air was streaming in between the gaps..

..mattress..finish the walls..and a whole lot more to come..but easier now that we can heat the place up while we work. Exciting times!

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “First Night in the Tiny Off Grid Cabin

  1. Toirdhealbheach Beucail

    January 26, 2021 at 8:33 am

    Looks good EGB! As you emphasized “cold” multiple times, I suspect the rigid insulation will be going in soon.

    24 C is a super respectable temperature anytime, especially if the outside is so cold (I admire your fortitude. I think I would die).

     
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      January 26, 2021 at 9:03 am

      Hehe. Yeah. The morning was colder than it should have been so I was a little disappointed..our place stays hot all night. It was at 10c when we got up but it should have been around 16 by my overly hopeful calculations. I won’t get to it too soon under the bunkie is full of wood for the walls so I need to finish that first..I will just make it hotter before bedtime in the meantime. It is ok as it is but it will bother me until I get it as I want it..before spring..I don’t want to deal with bugs in that tight space again..I came out covered in spiders when I was under there in the summer..not that I mind spiders that much.

       
      • Toirdhealbheach Beucail

        January 27, 2021 at 8:39 am

        I did heating and air conditioning work during a college summer one year. I never want to crawl under a house again. So much unpleasantness…

         
    • eagergridlessbeaver

      January 26, 2021 at 9:07 am

      Not to mention that I still have not even sealed in the wall by the stove and the area where the propane fridge is going..never really considered those 2 places when I was evaluating heat loss overnight

       

Leave a comment